All the Army Chiefs Who Have Served Pakistan Since Independence

These Are All The Army Chiefs Who Have Served Pakistan Since Independence

These Are All the Army Chiefs Who Have Served Pakistan Since Independence

An Army Chief in Pakistan epitomizes energy.

Prime Minister of Pakistan, Imran Khan has offered a three-year extension to the Chief of Army Staff, General Qamar Javed Bajwa. The Army Chief was set to vacate the submit in November this 12 months after finishing his Three years as the high General.

General Bajwa is the 16th Army General to function the Chief of Army Staff. Until 1972, the submit was referred to as as Commander-in-Chief of Pakistan Army.

We have compiled a listing of all Army Chiefs from 1947 til now for our readers. Let’s take a look in any respect the Generals who held the reigns of Pakistan Army.

1. Frank Messervy

Frank Messervy was a British General who took cost of Pakistan Army after independence and served as the first Commander-in-Chief until February 10, 1948.

2. Douglas Gracey

Following Sir Frank’s tenure, one other British General, Douglas Gracey took the reins of Pakistan Army as Commander-in-Chief. He took oath on February 11, 1948, and ended his time period on January 16, 1951. He was succeeded by first native Pakistani General, Ayub Khan.

3. Ayub Khan

He was the first Pakistani to function the Commander-in-Chief of Pakistan Army and later grew to become the first Army General to function the President of Pakistan. He was solely 43 years outdated when he was elevated to spearhead Pakistan Army. When President, he promoted himself to the Field Marshal rank and occupied the submit of Army Chief for a interval of seven years. His tenure got here to an finish on October 27, 1958.

4. Musa Khan

The longest-serving Army General to carry the submit of Commander-in-Chief, General Musa Khan commanded the Pakistan Army for Eight years ranging from October 27, 1958, to September 17, 1966. General Musa was the Army Chief throughout the 1965 Pakistan-India battle.

5. Yahya Khan

General Yahya Khan took over the submit of Commander-in-Chief from General Musa Khan in 1966 and stayed on the submit for five years. He grew to become the President of Pakistan in 1969 until December 20, 1971. General Yahya was the final C-in-C of unified Pakistan.

6. Gul Hassan Khan

Lieutenant General Gul Hassan Khan remained the Army Chief for a quick interval from December 20, 1971, to March 2, 1972. He was the first Army Chief of [West] Pakistan after the separation of Bangladesh.

7. Tikka Khan

General Tikka Khan was the first Chief of Army Staff, assuming workplace on March 3, 1972, and stayed in workplace for Four years. He vacated the submit on March 1, 1976, and he was the third-oldest Army General to steer Pakistan Army at the age of 57 years and eight months.

8. Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq

General Zia-ul-Haq grew to become the Army Chief on March 1, 1976, and following a navy coup, he took over as the sixth President of Pakistan. He overthrew Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto by declaring martial regulation in 1977 and have become the Head of the State in 1978. He died in 1988 in an notorious airplane crash.

9. Mirza Aslam Beg

General Mirza Aslam Beg of 16 Baloch Regiment was appointed as the Chief of Army Staff following Zia’s airplane crash in 1988. He stayed in energy of the Army for Three years and retired on August 16, 1991.

10. Asif Nawaz Janjua

Born in Chakri close to Chakwal, General Asif Nawaz belonged to five Punjab Regiment of Pakistan Army who served as the Army Chief for lower than one and a half 12 months. He died of a coronary heart assault beneath mysterious circumstances at the age of 56.

11. Abdul Waheed Kakar

The Army General from 5 FF Regiment, Abdul Waheed Kakar was chosen as the COAS after General Asif Nawaz’s sudden loss of life. He accomplished his three-year time period on January 12, 1996.

12. Jehangir Karamat

General Jehangir Karamat was one other adorned General with awards like Nishan-i-Imtiaz (Military) and Tamgha-i-Basalat to his identify. He was entrusted with the position of COAS on January 12, 1996, and his time period ended on October 6, 1998.

13. Pervaiz Musharraf

Another martial regulation administrator, General Pervaiz Musharraf stayed as Army Chief for 9 years. He was most well-liked over General Ali Quli Khan and General Khalid Nawaz Khan by the then Prime Minister, Nawaz Sharif. He later overthrew him and assumed the workplace of the President of Pakistan from June 2001 to August 2008.

14. Ashfaq Pervaiz Kiani

General Ashfaq Pervaiz Kiani served as the Army Chief for six years after he was awarded an extension of three years on completion of his first time period in November 2010. He was additionally conferred with awards corresponding to Nishan-i-Imtiaz and Hilal-i-Imtiaz.

15. Raheel Sharif

General Raheel Sharif is the brother of Nishan-i-Haider award winner, Major Shabbir Sharif who embraced martyrdom in 1971. Raheel Sharif was chosen as the COAS on November 29, 2013.

16. Qamar Javed Bajwa

Born in 1960, Qamar Javed Bajwa succeeded General Raheel Sharif in 2016. His first time period is ready to finish in November 2019, nonetheless, he’ll keep as the Army Chief for one more three years. He has additionally received the Nishan-i-Imtiaz and Hilal-i-Imtiaz for his companies to the nation.

Who do you assume has been the strongest Army Chief? Let us know in the feedback part.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Embed Thumbnail

Trump Under Fire After Comments About Jewish Americans

What You Didn’t Know About Careem’s “captain Care”

What You Didn’t Know About Careem’s “Captain Care”